Multilingual Keyboarding

All public PCs in the UCI Libraries are configured by default to allow patrons to type in multiple languages, including Arabic, Chinese, German, English, French, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Persian, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese. For certain languages, additional input methods may be available, including syllabary selection, symbol drawing, and tools that convert combinations of multiple keys into single unique characters.


How To

To change languages, click on the "ENG" icon in the Windows Taskbar (near the bottom right) and choose a language from the menu. You can also cycle through languages by pressing alt + shift.

To get a better view of the options available to certain languages, click the language icon (i.e. "ENG", "JP" , or "CH") and then click "Show the Language bar."